Blogger Profile: Scarlett London – Interview

Scarlett Dixon from ScarlettLondon.com has agreed to do a quick interview and for those who don’t know about the amazing blog and online magazine that she runs, please read on! On her blog she creates blog posts on fashion, beauty, events, TV gossip, interviews and reviews. At only 19, she manages her site, her team, goes to various events and she has made a platform for herself to become a well known respect journalist.

copy-scarlettlogo

Why did you start blogging and how long have you been blogging for?

Before I set up my blog (and in the early days) I didn’t even know the whole blogging community existed  so it was a pleasant surprise when I realized just how many people actually write a blog and are geniunely passionate about it. I set up scarlettlondon.com initially as a means of having a platform to express my opinions (as I have a LOT of them). I was a 17-year-old aspiring showbiz journalist (and still am, only I’m 19 now). I thought it may be a good idea to have an online showcase of my writing for job and university applications, so a combination of those aspects inspired me to set it up. I’ve been blogging for two years now, which is crazy – as it seems like only yesterday that I was writing my first post!

What has been the highlight for you since you started blogging?

I think being nominated for a Cosmo Awards definitely tops the highlights list, however there has been so many fantastic moments for me along the way – like being invited to interview the cast of Made In Chelsea live on air, attending so many amazing showbiz events (that I’d never even dream I’d have the chance to report from) and hosting my very first large scale bloggers party in June. Blogging has brought so many fantastic things to the table, things I’d never before imagined would be possible!

IMG00702-20111115-2110-1024x768

IMG00705-20111115-2216-1024x853

What do you think makes a successful blog?

I think it depends really, as there’s no specific ‘winning’ formula, every blog has personality and each are different in their own way, however – I always believe that you should write and maintain your blog as one that you yourself would be intrigued and entertained by. If you wouldn’t want to read it – the chances are no-one else is going to bother either. Maintaining a blog is a hard task and it can seem daunting, as the amount of time spent on it is often underestimated, but it’s so worth it when you see that people are actually reading what you’re putting together! It’s the best feeling in the world!

If you weren’t blogging and running Scarlett London Magazine, what do you think you would have been doing?

Well, since the age of 12, becoming a journalist has been the ultimate dream. I’ve always been obsessed with writing (and wrote my first ‘novel’ aged 6 – well, sort of) so I don’t think there’s anything else I’d prefer to do. I recently left my full time job in travel PR, as I am off to university in September to study Multi-Media Journalism – so I will be studying on the side of running the magazine, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. There’s never been any other dream of mine but to write, write, write.

Who or what are your inspirations?

I think my parents, as cliche as it sounds, are both such hard workers and have inspired me to follow my aspirations – and told me that nothing is impossible, are two of my biggest inspirations. They are so supportive and have always been helpful in whatever I’ve wanted to do. I also love (she’s fictional, I know) Samantha Jones from Sex & The City, as she never lets anyone get in the way of what she wants to do, and nothing (really nothing) fazes her. Much of my inspiration for my blog comes from publications and other blogs that I read!

What advice would you give young writers hoping to break into the world of fashion blogging, although its a competitive industry?

Fashion blogging – and writing in general, is an extremely competitive industry but it’s also very rewarding. The best thing to do is set up a blog, write to your favourite writers for advice (they may not write back, but it’s worth a shot) and network as much as you can! Unless you’re lucky enough to have famous writer parents, it’s not necessarily the easiest road (and I’m still far from where I want to be) but if you have the passion and dedication – you’re sure to do well.

How do you decide on what to write and how many hours do you spend on writing a week?

I keep a little diary by the side of my bed, where I write blog post ideas and drafts. Often, inspirational strikes at the strangest of hours (usually 3am) and so I write everything down. I don’t have an allocated number of hours each week that I spend on my blog, but I’d estimate its around 4-5 hours a day (with one day off) – writing up blog posts, editing pictures and tweeting. I enjoy it though, so it never feels like a chore!

Screen Shot 2013-07-01 at 03.14.42

Visit Scarlett London blog here and subscribe to the blog too!

All Photos taken from the Scarlett London website.  

